Putting Their Money Where Their Feet Are (or something like that)

I read this article yesterday where a pastor of a church in Peoria, AZ encouraged the members of his church to come up and leave their shoes at the foot of the stage during church and the shoes would be donated to the needy.  The article stated that they collected 11,000 shoes (I would guess that meant pairs of shoes – the Arizona Republic isn’t as accurate as they should be).  It must be a big church.

I think that’s a great way to show people two things.  One, how to spontaneously give and two, what it feels like to walk around without shoes on. 

  • Good job to Christ’s Church of the Valley in Peoria!  You guys answered God’s call to give to the needy.
  • Good job to the pastor who found a creative way to show people how to give.
  • This might be good for the economy in Peoria as people now have to go out and replace 11,000 shoes.
  • Timing is everything.  It’s a good thing he didn’t try this in August.  I’m not sure people would want to walk barefoot on the hot asphalt in Arizona.
  • I bet the local restaurants took a hit that Sunday.  You know “No Shoes, No Service”

Seriously though, I would encourage anyone who stumbles on this to try to find a way to give in a creative way in the next few weeks. 

I’d love to find out what you did or have done.  Feel free to leave any examples in the comments and I’ll post them on the site.

2 Responses to “Putting Their Money Where Their Feet Are (or something like that)”


  1. 1 Becky December 7, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I go to this church…..
    we gave our shoes. There wasn’t a doubt in our minds that it was the right thing to do, and as we were out to lunch (shoeless) we saw another family who saw us and said oh you must have just left church….. hahaha.

    It is times like this that I’m so proud and blessed to be a part of a church that challenges me to be the best Christ follower I can be 🙂

  2. 2 desertjim December 8, 2008 at 8:25 am

    Becky,

    Thanks for stopping by and thanks for leaving your shoes at the altar. I bet the walk out to the parking lot was a unique walk for you and your family.

    Keep your church on the edge.

    I am a little surprised you were able to get lunch barefoot. I bet there were some stares.


Leave a comment